F1 2014

This page will be regularly updated with the latest team lineups, as well as developments regarding the calendar.

Daniel Ricciardo was the first driver to be confirmed for a 2014 seat at Red Bull during the silly season, followed shortly after by Kimi Raikkonen, who is moving from Lotus to Ferrari.

Jules Bianchi was confirmed for a second year at Marussia later in the second half of the season, with the hotly contested seat at Lotus still unconfirmed.

Later, Russian Daniil Kvyat was confirmed as Ricciardo’s replacement at Toro Rosso, beating out Antonio Felix da Costa, who was expected to take the seat after an impressive test with Red Bull and Toro Rosso at Silverstone.

Pastor Maldonado revealed before the United States Grand Prix weekend that he would be leaving Williams after the 2013 season, further fueling speculation that he would be taking the vacant seat at Lotus. Hulkenberg was still in the running, but financial concerns at Lotus meant it was likely the team would take on a driver with sponsorship.

Sergio Perez was alos unceremoniously dropped from Mclaren after a tough first season with the team, making room for their young protege, Kevin Magnussen. Soon after, Felipe Massa confirmed that he would be joining Williams for 2014 alongside Valtteri Bottas.

Just a week after season’s end, Maldonado was confirmed as a 2014 Lotus driver alongside Romain Grosjean, while Nico Hulkenberg revealed he would be rejoining Force India for 2014 after two seasons with the team as a test driver in 2011 and race driver in 2012.  This put the safety of di Resta’s future with the team in doubt, as Perez was rumored to be in the running for the seat, with Sutil poised to fill Hulkenberg’s place at Sauber.

Sergio Perez was finally confirmed at Force India on December 12th, effectively squeezing di Resta out of the sport. A move to Indycar or DTM is expected for the Scotsman. Adrian Sutil was then confirmed at Sauber the following day.

Current 2014 F1 driver line-up:

Red Bull-Renault      Sebastian Vettel  Daniel Ricciardo
Mercedes              Lewis Hamilton    Nico Rosberg
Ferrari               Fernando Alonso   Kimi Raikkonen
Lotus-Renault         Romain Grosjean   Pastor Maldonado
McLaren-Mercedes      Jenson Button     Kevin Magnussen
Force India-Mercedes  Nico Hulkenberg   Sergio Perez
Sauber-Ferrari        Adrian Sutil      Esteban Gutierrez
Toro Rosso-Renault    Jean-Eric Vergne  Daniil Kvyat
Williams-Mercedes     Felipe Massa      Valtteri Bottas
Marussia-Ferrari      Jules Bianchi     tba
Caterham-Renault      tba               tba

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s